Kodi Community Forum
Linux ChromeBox Kodi E-Z Setup Script (LibreELEC/Linux+Kodi) [2017/02/21] - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: Linux ChromeBox Kodi E-Z Setup Script (LibreELEC/Linux+Kodi) [2017/02/21] (/showthread.php?tid=194362)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - plinkyplonky - 2014-09-27

Yes I'd looked at that thread and tried the various settings, but for the hell of it I just removed everything in the 14.04 grub 00_header make_timeout() section, there was a lot of code in there, and replaced it as follows:
make_timeout ()
{
cat << EOF
if [ "\${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=5
else
set timeout=${2}
fi
EOF
}

Did a "sudo grub-update" and it is booting fine now. The grub menu appears for 5 seconds then continues. It does look like the grub code is a bit flakey in Ubuntu 14.04. I'm just surprised nobody has report this already.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - Matt Devo - 2014-09-27

(2014-09-27, 22:47)figaro Wrote: Thank you Matt for your continuous help,
I re-installed ChromeOS, I followed your script as a new install and it worked fine,
The OpenELEC backup function did not work. It was OK to reconfigure the box again.
By the way, re-installing the ChromeOS did not solve the issue of no audio on HDMI.
Now the people at Google are telling me it is known bug in their last release and they are working on it. Obviously not working very hard because it is been going on for more than 2 months !!!.
The new guy at Google in charge of ChromeOS was saying the other day that he predicts ChromeOS will be the dominant OS in the future !!!. What a joke !!!. How long did it take Apple to correct the snafu with IOS 8 ? one day ?
Best Regards.

I've used the OE backup/restore function pretty regularly, I'm surprised it didn't work for you.

ChromeOS updates are released on a pretty regular/continuous schedule (6 weeks I think). You might switch to the beta channel so you get access to the latest update sooner, which might have an HDMI audio fix for you.

(2014-09-27, 22:50)plinkyplonky Wrote: Yes I'd looked at that thread and tried the various settings, but for the hell of it I just removed everything in the 14.04 grub 00_header make_timeout() section, there was a lot of code in there, and replaced it as follows:
make_timeout ()
{
cat << EOF
if [ "\${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=5
else
set timeout=${2}
fi
EOF
}

Did a "sudo grub-update" and it is booting fine now. The grub menu appears for 5 seconds then continues. It does look like the grub code is a bit flakey in Ubuntu 14.04. I'm just surprised nobody has report this already.

probably not a whole lot of people running without a keyboard connected


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - nubecoder - 2014-09-30

Hi,

First I want to say thanks, getting my ChromeBox setup as a standalone Ubuntu 14.04.1 box was rather painless.

I have the i3 version of the ChromeBox from Asus; I'm using it as a Plex Media Server, XBMC (soon to be Kodi) HTPC, and general desktop.
I store my media on a QNAP T-212 NAS and have the shares mounted via nfs.

Like I said, everything has gone rather smoothly, but I've run into an issue.

The problem is that, in XBMC, I cannot find the pass-through options for audio (DTS, DD) in the main audio output menu (settings->system->audio output).
I've got the Ubuntu install configured to HDMI 5.1 in it's system settings->sound->output settings.
I am only seeing PCM as the input source on my A/V receiver.

I was able to find an "enable pass-through" (or something very similar) option of the during-playback audio options by pressing the 'M' key to make the playback menu show up, then selecting the sound icon over on the right (it's the menu that has the "apply to all videos" option at the bottom).
But that setting doesn't seem to actually do anything, I still only see PCM as the source on my A/V receiver...

I know this is a slightly different setup from a lot of people who are simply using OpenELEC, but unless OpenELEC has a Plex Media Server add-on (does it? I should go check) this is the route I need to go.

Anyone experiencing the same issue? Anyone got any ideas that might help?

Thanks.

[edit]
I went and found a Plex Media Server addon for OpenELEC, so that does exist.
But I would still like to just fix this issue, as I like having the normal Ubuntu desktop OS an option to use when desired.
[/edit]

Thanks.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - nickr - 2014-09-30

Have you turned settings level to "advanced" or "expert" - in confluence it is at the bottom left of the settings windows.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - nubecoder - 2014-09-30

Bah, knew I would forget to mention an important detail...

Yes, I'm in expert mode for the settings.
And yes, I'm using the stock confluence skin.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - Matt Devo - 2014-09-30

remove/uninstall pulseaudio. common issue with Intel HDA users under Ubuntu 14.04, or so Google tells me


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - noggin - 2014-09-30

Yes - you need to run ALSA not PulseAudio for HD Audio Bitstreaming, but current Ubuntu installs PulseAudio in a stock install.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - thePCisDead - 2014-09-30

So I was testing the dual boot ChromeOS & Xubuntu option yesterday. I tried installing OpenVPN and network manager because one of the main reasons for being interested in this setup over the dual boot ChromeOS & OpenElec is the ability to VPN into work from my Asus Chromebox.

Unfortunately I was unable to get the VPN working in Ubuntu and I was also unable to get the VPN working in ChromeOS.

I then did a factory reset and went back to the dual boot ChromeOS & OpenElec setup and, what do ya know, I was able to connect to my VPN in ChromeOS - same settings.

Has anyone else had the same experience? Any ideas as to why this would happen? Aren't the system files and base configuration totally separate for the 2 OS's?


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - Matt Devo - 2014-09-30

there's no reason why one would affect the other in terms of VPN connectivity. The factory reset probably forced a ChromeOS update which may have fixed the issue there, but the installation of OpenELEC is unrelated


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - thePCisDead - 2014-09-30

(2014-09-30, 17:12)Matt Devo Wrote: there's no reason why one would affect the other in terms of VPN connectivity.

Thanks, that's what I thought. Something else must have been going on. I'll give it a go another time.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - nubecoder - 2014-10-01

(2014-09-30, 08:30)Matt Devo Wrote: remove/uninstall pulseaudio. common issue with Intel HDA users under Ubuntu 14.04, or so Google tells me

(2014-09-30, 10:57)noggin Wrote: Yes - you need to run ALSA not PulseAudio for HD Audio Bitstreaming, but current Ubuntu installs PulseAudio in a stock install.

Well that sounds easy, but a quick google search is showing that it may not be all that easy.

In my quick test so far, I've managed to completely remove the audio device from the sound settings, and when trying to view things from the gnome-alsamixer I'm not seeing any controls for the Intel HDA audio device (the realtek device actually has channels and volumes, etc).

I'll continue to try getting this working and I'll come edit this post with results, etc when I'm done.

Thanks for the point into the (hopefully) right direction.

[edit]
So I got what I was looking for on this page: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=PulseAudio

The short of it...
You don't have to remove pulseaudio to get the pass-through options to show up in XBMC (in fact you just need to configure it properly).
Just install pavucontrol and get it set up in a way that you prefer (using info found in the link above).

Thanks for the help guys!
[/edit]

=]


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - P3ws - 2014-10-01

(2014-09-26, 15:12)gkingsmill Wrote: I had the same problem with my Panasonic TV. I fixed it on the TV by pressing the Menu button on the TV remote, going into Picture, VIewing Mode, and setting it to THX. When I did this the screen size on XBMC was perfect with no adjustment required. Note that this setting is unique to each AV input, so making this change on the XBMC HDMI input will not affect your TV or other HDMI inputs.

Note that you could also change the screen size in XBMC by going to System, System, Video Output, Video calibration and then adjust the screen size to match your TV. .

Setting the Panasonic TV Viewing Mode to THX is a better solution since this will fix the screen size for the boot menu, ChromeOS, OpenELEC and XBMC.

Geoff..

I would get back to you, and you are 100% correct on this matter.
When i fiddled with the settings on the the Panasonic maybe i just missed the setting that worked.

And i am very very happy to have solved the problem.
Thanks alot! Wish i could hand you a cold beer or somthing else suitable.

regards P3ws


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - ChrisCrimbus - 2014-10-02

I am attempting to install SteamOS on a HP Chromebox and have had mixed success so far.

When attempting a dual-boot configuration I get to the part where the Chromebox will reboot and "repair" after the drive partitioning, but after it resets CTRL+L just causes the machine to beep, not reboot in legacy mode. It'll eventually boot into ChromeOS.

In a single-boot configuration SteamOS installs but the MAC Address is lost in the process and Debian guides to permanently change it don't work for me.

I'd be fine with it booting just into SteamOS, but not having Ethernet is a non-starter. The change logs seem to indicate this issue was fixed with newer versions of the script, so why is it that I'm running into the same problem?


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - Matt Devo - 2014-10-02

(2014-10-02, 05:58)ChrisCrimbus Wrote: I am attempting to install SteamOS on a HP Chromebox and have had mixed success so far.

When attempting a dual-boot configuration I get to the part where the Chromebox will reboot and "repair" after the drive partitioning, but after it resets CTRL+L just causes the machine to beep, not reboot in legacy mode. It'll eventually boot into ChromeOS.

In a single-boot configuration SteamOS installs but the MAC Address is lost in the process and Debian guides to permanently change it don't work for me.

I'd be fine with it booting just into SteamOS, but not having Ethernet is a non-starter. The change logs seem to indicate this issue was fixed with newer versions of the script, so why is it that I'm running into the same problem?

If dual booting anything other than OpenELEC or Ubuntu, you'll likely need to also manually update the legacy BIOS as well, since that's normally done at the end of the dual boot setup.

For standalone setup, there's no reason for the MAC address not to be preserved. I tested it on a HP Chromebox just the other week without issue. Even if the device's unique MAC address wasn't preserved, there's no reason the box wouldn't work with the default one, or why SteamOS would care either way - something else is amiss there.


RE: Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.20 - 2014/09/26] - fritsch - 2014-10-02

SteamOS is the latest sh**t when it comes to hw support. It only really supports nvidia quite well out of the box.

Steam ships outdated VAAPI, LIBVA and an even more outdated kernel 3.10 which I highly don't suggest on any hsw based setup cause of wrong color clamping (was fixed in 3.13) and snd_hda_intel which has a bug concerning data alignment which was fixed in 3.15 - so - just don't.