![]() |
Headless Kodi - Printable Version +- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv) +-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32) +--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93) +--- Thread: Headless Kodi (/showthread.php?tid=212061) |
RE: Headless Kodi - topfs2 - 2015-01-23 (2015-01-23, 15:00)fizze Wrote: Any ideas why this is happening? Try the flags on normal Helix or Master (depending which headless you run). I have a feeling that this is unrelated to this branch. You probably need to disable randr too. And there are a couple of flags I wouldn't use on this branch (the shared one for example). I for example compile kodi without any disables with this branch and it works. RE: Headless Kodi - xayide - 2015-01-24 How do I run the docker creation script? I installed wheezy x64 and docker. It says error if I run it as a BASH-script. Forget it I used this: https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/docker-explained-using-dockerfiles-to-automate-building-of-images RE: Headless Kodi - xayide - 2015-01-24 Can this be compiled to work with pvr.vuplus so that EPG can be updated to central mysql ? RE: Headless Kodi - Solo0815 - 2015-01-28 is it possible to reduce the installation of packages to run kodi-headless? e.g remove all the display-stuff from the dependencies? On a NAS there is usually no Monitor or Desktop-Interface RE: Headless Kodi - three80 - 2015-01-28 Are profiles supported by headless Kodi? I currently use texturecache script by milhouse to trigger library scans and have Kodi running on a workspace I never look at because I only use it on this machine to update different profiles libraries in Kodi and use mysql. Texturecache with properly setup config (or command line args) it will switch profiles to scan them. I would love to not run Kodi on my main PC and move it to my server if it supports profiles. I'm going to guess I'd just have to transfer userdata directory with profiles to servers .kodi directory once headless kodi has run the first time? RE: Headless Kodi - topfs2 - 2015-01-28 (2015-01-28, 08:59)Solo0815 Wrote: is it possible to reduce the installation of packages to run kodi-headless? e.g remove all the display-stuff from the dependencies? Yes, the work here however is mostly geared toward getting all features (which makes sense) to work. After that we will work on limiting dependencies. Ofcourse these efforts could go side by side and we would love help on reducing dependencies overall! (2015-01-24, 17:47)xayide Wrote: Can this be compiled to work with pvr.vuplus so that EPG can be updated to central mysql ? I see no reason why this wouldn't work, however I personally hate mysql ![]() (2015-01-28, 09:24)three80 Wrote: Are profiles supported by headless Kodi? In general the idea is that it should work the same as normal kodi (its the same source afterall). However, I have not tried profiles and I am quite sure that some texture cache stuff might be bugged (or disabled). Tests in this area would be greatly appreciated so I know how to reproduce something which doesn't work. I would not go out and swap out my production environment with headless just now though, soon perhaps ![]() RE: Headless Kodi - fizze - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-23, 17:13)topfs2 Wrote:(2015-01-23, 15:00)fizze Wrote: Any ideas why this is happening? True, I've compiled it without any flags and it worked fine. I'd like to test it for a few weeks to see whether it's stable. Can I have xbmc and kodi running at the same time without issues? Obviously I'll have to make sure they use different network ports.. RE: Headless Kodi - wsnipex - 2015-01-29 that should work if one is headless. RE: Headless Kodi - topfs2 - 2015-01-29 Just need to care if your running them at the same time on the same desktop that both uses the same config files, which is probably likely to fail ![]() RE: Headless Kodi - wsnipex - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 16:17)topfs2 Wrote: Just need to care if your running them at the same time on the same desktop that both uses the same config files, which is probably likely to fail xbmc should use ~/.xbmc and kodi ~/.kodi RE: Headless Kodi - fizze - 2015-01-29 For posterity: XBMC is the minified build from the forums, it runs out of /opt/xbmc-server/ with portable_data folders. I've compiled kodi with a prefix of /opt/kodi-server and it will also be run with portable_data folders. So both are headless, and I want to keep both DBs running in parallel for testing kodi on all my clients. RE: Headless Kodi - topfs2 - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 17:10)wsnipex Wrote:(2015-01-29, 16:17)topfs2 Wrote: Just need to care if your running them at the same time on the same desktop that both uses the same config files, which is probably likely to fail oh I didn't realise it was kodi vs xbmc ![]() ![]() RE: Headless Kodi - emveepee - 2015-01-30 (2014-12-29, 01:36)topfs2 Wrote: That is what we are working on here yes, my goal is mostly to have the possibility to turn gui rendering on/off. So less about making a pure server edition of kodi but more about having the possibility to run it without GUI. I see potential value to this for a directfb app I have. Is it primarily a UPnP server/scraper or will it play media too? If there is video playback will there be any skinned UI or a defined layer for the OSD? Same questions for the HIDs will there be input devices during playback or is it all controlled remotely. Martin RE: Headless Kodi - topfs2 - 2015-01-30 (2015-01-30, 03:20)emveepee Wrote:(2014-12-29, 01:36)topfs2 Wrote: That is what we are working on here yes, my goal is mostly to have the possibility to turn gui rendering on/off. So less about making a pure server edition of kodi but more about having the possibility to run it without GUI. Its the full kodi source, so it will play media too. However, it won't have anything to output the video to (as video is tied to our gui engine, which is why we can do fancy transformations of the video). Sound will be outputted however. And we could possibly look into an API were video is sent over JSON-RPC. I reckon if your doing a directfb app you should probably just fetch the video stream and play it yourself though. The same answer for input. Most, if not all, input comes from our windowing code, thus input will not be triggered in the headless version. The one exception to this is lirc and json rpc/event server remotes (and possibly gamepads but somewhat unsure on this), these are triggered outside the windowing code. But the vast majority of the input wouldn't be useful in a headless version. I'm guessing what your asking is if you can just implement rendering in directfb and everything else is handled on the server? So you don't have to map input and video playback? If so, I think that might be a bit outside the scope of my efforts. However, we might accept PRs allowing it. RE: Headless Kodi - emveepee - 2015-01-31 (2015-01-30, 09:18)topfs2 Wrote: I'm guessing what your asking is if you can just implement rendering in directfb and everything else is handled on the server? So you don't have to map input and video playback? If so, I think that might be a bit outside the scope of my efforts. However, we might accept PRs allowing it. Ok thanks. Yes you largely have it, although the rendering would be limited to presenting a remote framebuffer using RFB protocol while the heavy GUI rendering is performed on another box. I'd still want to have input in app, I plan on using the Hauppauge protocol http://www.rst38.org.uk/mediamvp/protocol.html for that. If I can use a YUV overlay I don't need any UI for playback, but definitely would want the Kodi demux and a/v playback engines available to me. Martin |