![]() |
Release YouTube (IMPORTANT - READ FIRST POST) - Printable Version +- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv) +-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33) +--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27) +---- Forum: Video Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=154) +---- Thread: Release YouTube (IMPORTANT - READ FIRST POST) (/showthread.php?tid=200735) Pages:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136
137
138
139
140
141
142
143
144
145
146
147
148
149
150
151
152
153
154
155
156
157
158
159
160
161
162
163
164
165
166
167
168
169
170
171
172
173
174
175
176
177
178
179
180
181
182
183
184
185
186
187
188
189
190
191
192
193
194
195
196
197
198
199
200
201
202
203
204
205
206
207
208
209
210
211
212
213
214
215
216
217
218
219
220
221
222
223
224
225
226
227
228
229
230
231
232
233
234
235
236
237
238
239
240
241
242
243
244
245
246
247
248
249
250
251
252
253
254
255
256
257
258
|
RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - constrainer - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-28, 20:21)bromix Wrote:(2015-01-27, 19:58)constrainer Wrote: As far as I know, the plugin works by downloading the video and playing it as a local temporary file (correct me if I'm wrong). I made an experiment and downloaded one video with issues from YouTube via third-party software, resulting in a 360p mp4 file. I played this file on XBMC (Gotham, 13.2, working on an MX Linux), and it plays smoothly and fine. Is it possible that the plugin is using different file format for the data, which triggers the issue with the decoding? If the plugin is providing an mp4 stream in 360, I think we're good.Go to the Addon-Settings and select for video quality "360p" Do you really think this was not the first thing I did on initial setup? ![]() Anyway, I dug deeper into the problem and found a solution. Here is a full report on it. First, what do we know up to now: 1. The problem is that some videos are playing glitchy on some devices with XBMC/Kodi installed on embedded Linux. 2. The problem is not in the plugin itself, it is due to problems in some versions of FFMPEG library with the VP8 media format. 3. This problem is brought up by the plugin using this format when fetching a video from YouTube. 4. The problem is avoidable if we request the video from YouTube in MPEG-4 format. Upon playing such a video among other things in the log file we have this: Code: DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Video: - Opening The result is glitchy playback. Enter the file ~/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.youtube/resources/lib/youtube/helper/video_info.py. This is part of the Bromix YouTube plugin for XBMC/Kodi. In it on line 13 and further we have this: Code: DEFAULT_ITAG_MAP = {'5': {'format': 'FLV', 'width': 320, 'height': 240}, This regulates the format in which we request the video from the YouTube server. Now, if we make a slight adjustment in it in the form of commenting out the options that are not MPEG-4 based, we get this code (only for 360p!): Code: DEFAULT_ITAG_MAP = {'5': {'format': 'FLV', 'width': 320, 'height': 240}, After that, we play the same video as above and in the log file we get this: Code: NOTICE: CDVDVideoCodecFFmpeg::Open() Using codec: H.264 / AVC / MPEG-4 AVC / MPEG-4 part 10 Obviously we forced the server to return an MPEG-4. Now the video is playing fine, no more glitches. This is a very crude and probably flawed way to fix this issue, but it works fine on my device. What I am suggesting to Bromix is to probably include an option in the configuration of the plugin in the manner of "Use MPEG-4 whenever possible" or something in that matter so that people with this issue could work around the problem and enjoy the otherwise excellent experience this plugin delivers. RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 12:21)constrainer Wrote: .... Ahh....Good point...didn't thought about that. You're right...this could happen. I just created an issue for me ![]() At the moment we get a complete list with all possible streams (mp4, webm and so on mixed). I select the stream only based on the resolution of the video - not the format ![]() ![]() Thanks man for this insight ![]() RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 08:29)RonnieG3 Wrote: So I'm having this conundrum:That's a problem of XBMC/KODI - not the addon ![]() (2015-01-29, 08:29)RonnieG3 Wrote: ALSO - I assumethe History is watched history. Any way to have it show Search History from the web? (just lookin' for a way around if necessary. Not quite ready o make the jump to KODI until my skin is compatible.)Sorry no....I already looked into it, but both APIs don't provide anything to gather the search history. RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 01:28)finnaldo Wrote:(2015-01-28, 20:21)bromix Wrote: Sooooo, everything is working, but the debug option is missing? Ahhh ![]() 1.) I could update this. But it shouldn't be a problem if some old data of the other addon remained, because the addons use completely different mechanism and different settings for that. 2.) Everything is here for that. An addon don't need an extra option for debug if the developer uses the provided logging-mechanism of XBMC/KODI (Log-Level) 3.) What was the problem uninstalling the beta addon and why? And thanks ![]() RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - constrainer - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 13:28)bromix Wrote: Ahh....Good point...didn't thought about that. You're right...this could happen. I just created an issue for me I'm glad to be of help ![]() ![]() RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - gotiuser01 - 2015-01-29 The classic context menu is back in 5.0.5 beta5, yay!...This add-on really gives me the best YouTube experience and it's still improving itself like every other day. ![]() Edit: I just found that the "next page" button in the subscription folder (the folder that stores/lists my subscribed channels) is gone in this latest beta. Is this normal? RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - tomer953 - 2015-01-29 Many users using cubox-i (openelec 5.0) is reporting problems in the addon from beta5 version. Beta4 fix worked fine, but today 3 friends reported me errors and scripts failes. Ill try to post debug log later. In my pc (win8) everything is working fine. RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 15:47)gotiuser01 Wrote: The classic context menu is back in 5.0.5 beta5, yay!...This add-on really gives me the best YouTube experience and it's still improving itself like every other day.Ups ![]() RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 19:51)tomer953 Wrote: Many users using cubox-i (openelec 5.0) is reporting problems in the addon from beta5 version. Beta4 fix worked fine, but today 3 friends reported me errors and scripts failes.A debug-log of the openelec systems would cool ![]() RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - tomer953 - 2015-01-29 (2015-01-29, 21:08)bromix Wrote:(2015-01-29, 19:51)tomer953 Wrote: Many users using cubox-i (openelec 5.0) is reporting problems in the addon from beta5 version. Beta4 fix worked fine, but today 3 friends reported me errors and scripts failes.A debug-log of the openelec systems would cool I can confirm the problem, also tried it and script failes in search, or in watch... beta5 for me. debug log http://pastebin.com/30012REA RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - o2ri - 2015-01-29 hey, searched for an answer and didnt find any: getting " line 67, in convert_timestamp" problem on version 13.2 / kodi is working fine. both version on same win7 pc link: plugin://plugin.video.youtube/play/?video_id=shH7oqffJQ4 maybe its python version problem? system\python\Lib\sqlite3\dbapi2.py", line 67, in convert_timestamp year, month, day = map(int, datepart.split("-")) TypeError: 'NoneType' object is not callable RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - o2ri - 2015-01-30 another 1 : calling plugin://plugin.video.youtube/play/?playlist_id=PLK_Lf3fJd0-DvrEp7WQeCuZXExgNLU44-&order=shuffle always give me the same order of videos. what am i doing wrong? RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-30 (2015-01-30, 00:10)o2ri Wrote: another 1 :A full log please in both your cases. RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - bromix - 2015-01-30 (2015-01-29, 22:34)tomer953 Wrote:Are you sure beta4 worked? Because I changed nothing in this regions of the addon.(2015-01-29, 21:08)bromix Wrote:(2015-01-29, 19:51)tomer953 Wrote: Many users using cubox-i (openelec 5.0) is reporting problems in the addon from beta5 version. Beta4 fix worked fine, but today 3 friends reported me errors and scripts failes.A debug-log of the openelec systems would cool Are you behind a proxy? This is a well known issue in the implementation of urllib2 of python. RE: YouTube v5.X.X - KODI 14.0 Helix - tomer953 - 2015-01-30 No proxy Same problem with 3 more devices (friends and family) And yes, beta3 has the vevo problem, i reported here, and when beta4 came out - all worked perfectly. I dont know if it is the update to beta5 (because i dont have beta4 to test it ) but now we have a problem. Any suggestions? Maybe delete some files or complete addon and reinstall ? |