Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - Printable Version +- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv) +-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33) +--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111) +---- Forum: OS independent / Other (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=228) +---- Thread: Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist (/showthread.php?tid=377788) |
Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - WarpLover - 2024-06-02 I thought I'd try something clever with playlists, but I get a result I cannot explain. The idea is to execute a playlist to see the best 30 movies for a given decade, three movies from each year (10x3, 30 movies). Lets use the 1980's as an example. I have 11 playlists. One I call the master playlist, and 10 that I call the subroutine playlists. The group of ten playlists are a playlist for each year of the decade. (1980, 1981, 1982...) These playlists are built the same: find all movies for 198x, sort by rating, and return the top three matches. When you execute these playlists individually, they work as expected. Now I make a master playlist that calls all 10 subroutine playlists expecting 30 movies, but it returns every movie for the 80's, completely ignoring the limit=3 in each of subroutine playlists. What is going on? Can whatever it is be overcome? Thanks RE: Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - PatK - 2024-06-02 Should be able to do this. Here I combine a Few Best of Lists, familiar? Code: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?> Called up via node listing, all the years are rating limited to 100 and combined is limited in Nodes. RE: Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - WarpLover - 2024-06-02 Someone at LE suggested I try the node editor, but I did not like how it wiped a lot of stuff in favor of an experiment I tried. I'll stick with playlists. They don't harm anything. Let's look at my master playlist. You can see how it calls other playlists. <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?> <smartplaylist type="movies"> <name>The Best of the 30's</name> <match>one</match> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1930</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1931</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1932</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1933</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1934</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1935</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1936</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1937</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1938</value> </rule> <rule field="playlist" operator="is"> <value>1939</value> </rule> <group>none</group> <limit></limit> <order direction="descending">rating</order> </smartplaylist> A sample subroutine playlist: 1935.xsp <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?> <smartplaylist type="movies"> <name>1935</name> <match>all</match> <rule field="year" operator="is"> <value>1935</value> </rule> <group>none</group> <limit>3</limit> <order direction="descending">rating</order> </smartplaylist> It works, except they all return more than the subroutine limit. The question is why the subroutine limit is ignored? RE: Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - DarrenHill - 2024-06-02 Thread moved to OS independent support, as discussions is not for support requests. RE: Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - PatK - 2024-06-02 So you are manually creating the smart playlist with an editor or are you using the Kodi internal editor? I note in your 3rd post <limit></limit>, might want to put a limit in. Nodes offer the ability to set limits, use smart playlists; you might want to check out the node editor. My suggestion is to try to link 2 or your playlists with a third, if successful try more until failure. RE: Calling a Smart Playlist From a Smart Playlist - WarpLover - 2024-06-02 I use a text editor most of the time. I only use the built in editor when I can't remember what keywords are available. My examples above may be stale. I recently wiped both of my sbc's to install fresh, and did not copy over the newest playlist changes to a safe place. I will revisit and add one subroutine playlist at a time as you suggest. |