Posts: 7,304
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
402
2017-08-14, 18:17
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-14, 18:19 by Lunatixz.)
Hi, I'm trying to rebuild my development setup after a fresh windows install...
I thought everything went well, double checked with the wiki and github instructions, but for the life of me I cannot get VS2015 CE to install "vcvars32.bat" and other c++ tools.
I've double checked all the VS install settings making sure to check all tool options, yet nothing installs to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\Tools"
Anyone have suggestions?
Thanks
Posts: 1,701
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
127
Stupid question but have you actually checked VC++ common tools during setup? Recent versions of Visual Studio do not install C++ components by default.
Posts: 7,304
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
402
2017-08-14, 21:07
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-14, 21:08 by Lunatixz.)
Seems like cmake doesn't play nice with dual VS installations... i'm getting "Compiling the CXX compiler identification source file "CMakeCXXCompilerId.cpp" failed." error.
My guess I need to set the correct path to VS 2015 in the build.env?
Posts: 118
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation:
0
I don't think that's it. I have four different versions of VS installed, 2010 - 2015.
Posts: 1,701
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation:
127
cl.exe is MS's C++ compiler. It seems that something wrong with environment variables. Try to start "VS2015 x86 Native Tools Command Prompt" and then run CMake generation / compilation from there.
Posts: 118
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation:
0
2017-08-15, 15:31
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-15, 15:56 by MatthewLundberg.)
I don't think you should need to run the Tools Command Prompt. I've never done this to build Kodi; I just use a normal command prompt. vcvarsall.bat is called from various scripts in /tools/buildsteps/windows/x64/.
1. Is %VS140COMNTOOLS% defined in your environment?
2. Does "%VS140COMNTOOLS%..\..\VC\vcvarsall.bat" exist?
If the answer to either is no, check your compiler installation.
Posts: 7,304
Joined: May 2011
Reputation:
402
2017-08-16, 16:03
(This post was last modified: 2017-08-16, 16:05 by Lunatixz.)
Thanks, Yea its path related... probably starting with my issue getting common tools to install from VS15 and then installing VS17.
I checked out paths, env. paths... they all seem okay. I noted multiple VS14 common tools some complete others missing files, I never had a issue compiling; so i'm unsure if this is normal.
Currently trying to understand what cl path it's trying to access.