Posts: 12,646
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation:
631
Personally mine runs on a Pi2, as I had one laying around spare. But if you're getting one for purpose, get a Pi3.
On mine I used an OpenMediaVault image, and then added TVHeadEnd into that. I must admit it took a little while to get a version of TvH that worked well with my HDHomeRun (some of them didn't see it at all) but setting it up wasn't too difficult. The OMV was just to get a few other features available easily, but it could just as simply be put on a Raspbian set-up.
Unfortunately the notes I made plus the URLs I stored are all at home, which I won't be for another two weeks or so as I'm on a business trip. I'll see what I can dig up when I have a little more time, but it works for me as a general solution.
Posts: 167
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation:
1
Tvheadend supports encrypted channels?
Posts: 167
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation:
1
Yea, sorry I meant the DRM channels, I didn't think it did. So lame that only Windows Media Center and SiliconDust's only horrible app are the only ones that work with DRM channels.
Posts: 806
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation:
33
The SD HDHR View app for viewing DRM is only available for Windows 10 and Xbox One through the Windows/Microsoft store. The Kodi addon does not (and will not ever) support DRM channels.
Posts: 80
Joined: Nov 2017
Reputation:
3
Where does this PVR addon get it guide data from?
I have about 12 OTA channels and it finds guide data for all of them.
Right now even WMC don't get data on all of them.
Posts: 584
Joined: Oct 2017
Reputation:
85
Fuzzard
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 584
Guide comes from silicondust. Requires a deviceauth token to retrieve from them that changes on a regular basis
Posts: 80
Joined: Nov 2017
Reputation:
3
Thanks for the info on the guide data source. I get it but i am not part of the DVR kickstart project and am not paying them for it i guess i am lucky.
But the SD KODI PVR is OK, but it is clear they just made something that would work but stopped right there and never finished it to make it Clean.
I am hoping one of the Alt HDHR PVR get released for general use. I am sure i would give it a spin.
Because this release dupe channels and make it hard as possible to figiure out what channel is what when you many ABC sources and which Tuners it is coming from.
Once they had this working it would have been very easy to correct this missing info in the channel manager section. IMHO.
Rainey
Posts: 118
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation:
0
Rainey, if I understand you correctly, you need to go to the Kodi PVR settings (from the main settings page) and set the option to use channel numbers from the back-end. That doesn't fix the duplicate channel problem, but it does fix the channel numbers.
Also, non-subscribers do get program guide data, but you are limited to 24 hours. Subscribers can pull two weeks of guide data.
Posts: 80
Joined: Nov 2017
Reputation:
3
Well i have learned a few things, i will past along.
The default HDHR PVR Dose work good and you get guide data for a few hours.
The channel problem i was complaining about is more beginners error. If you call up the channel list of each tuner IP you can limit what channels show up in the PVR client.
Than it was easy to add one of each channel to a channel group. Problem solved.
Next
The HDHR PVR that works the SD DVR engine can also be used even if you do not sub to the DVR service. It looks a little better then the default PVR client. Gets the same Guide data for a few hours.
If you enable the PVR IPTV Client also, then the HDHR PVR clients will not show the real Channel numbers ( channel numbers from the back-end ) as it overrides this option.
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation:
0
Is there a way to display signal quality when OSD is displayed. I have enabled the option in settings, but looking at the addon code it doesn't seem to be retrieved. Not sure if this is because API doesnt support it, or code not added to grab it. This would fall under enhancement to the add on?
This information does show through browser (HDHomeRun CONNECT Duo) - Tuner Status
Thanks