Posts: 517
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation:
1
I'm not trying to hack this thread. But I use Plex Media Server and access it through XBMC and Plex Home Theater from different devices and different HTPCs... My only problem is with accessing Plex Media Server from XBMC, my homemenu widgets don't work because its grabbing my media from the video addon Plexbmc. Any work around for this?
Posts: 31,445
Joined: Jan 2011
2013-04-11, 08:27
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-11, 08:28 by Ned Scott.)
Did you include this in your advancedsettings.xml file for the importing XBMC device?
Code:
<videolibrary>
<importwatchedstate>true</importwatchedstate>
</videolibrary>
If not, you can remove the source, add that to your advancedsettings.xml file, and then reimport.
Posts: 24
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation:
0
Grubsy
Junior Member
Posts: 24
2013-04-11, 08:55
(This post was last modified: 2013-04-11, 08:56 by Grubsy.)
Thanks Ned Scott. My fault.
Hadn't restarted XBMC since I added the advancedsettings.xml
Removed and re-added the source and the watched status seems to be there now
Posts: 399
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
0
Folks i'm using mysql and this query seems to be causing issues with the skin widgets service and as a result its slowing the opening of addons. Anything that can be done to speed it up? I have a large video library.
15:49:09 T:139864761595648 DEBUG: RunQuery took 118872 ms for 324 items query: SELECT * FROM tvshowview WHERE (tvshowview.idShow IN (select tvshowview.idShow from tvshowview where (watchedcount > 0 AND watchedcount < totalCount) OR (watchedcount = 0 AND tvshowview.idShow IN (select episodeview.idShow from episodeview WHERE episodeview.idShow = tvshowview.idShow AND episodeview.resumeTimeInSeconds > 0))))
Posts: 31,445
Joined: Jan 2011
First issue: The configuration screen you've linked to is actually something you shouldn't need to fiddle with at all for a Windows MySQL server install. It's only something you'll see if you dive deeper into the configuration wizard. See howtogeek.com's guide here and they mention using "standard" as well for 5.5:
http://www.howtogeek.com/75535/how-to-sy...with-xbmc/
Quote:The MySQL configuration wizard will launch and present you with the option to select between Detailed and Standard Configuration. Select Standard Configuration and click Next.
Second issue: This is a known issue in XBMC. Until the bug in XBMC is fixed (and yes, it is a bug in XBMC, despite what that other user says), users should stay on 5.5.
Posts: 309
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation:
9
2013-05-28, 23:33
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-28, 23:34 by Dark_Slayer.)
Thanks, and yes I missed the big red box and warning sign
I don't know how long it's been there, but I think I did this back in February and don't recall seeing it
Easy enough, 5.5 it will be (when I get to it)
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2013
Reputation:
0
Is it possible to have 2 different MySQL databases sync with 1 user on multiple XBMC boxes? There are 2 different NAS boxes (both are on the same LAN) that contain files needing to be synced. How would the advancedsettings look?
Posts: 17,855
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation:
1,056
Milhouse
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,855
Two different databases accessed by the same client isn't possible (unless you use profiles, which might work, one database per profile).
But if what you want to do is have your XBMC clients access all of the media stored on the two different NAS devices, then that's entirely possible with a single MySQL database. Just add both NAS as sources on your clients (or just the scraper client), then scrape in the content to your single MySQL database. Add the MySQL database settings to the advancedsettings.xml on each client, which should then have access to all the media on the two NAS devices.
Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2013
Reputation:
0
Thanks. That makes sense to just have 1 central database for all media on all of the different NASs. I'm not sure why I was thinking to have 2 different databases.
Posts: 39
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation:
0
Finally getting a chance to switch my server to Arch, today. I'll be writing up the how to as soon as I get it set up. Note that Arch has switched to MariaDB so I'll be using that for the walkthrough instead of MySQL.
Posts: 39
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation:
0
Ok, finally got it done and updated the wiki in between the newborn napping. lol
I haven't had a chance to test it with XBMC, but that does allow me to access the database remotely through other means.