Posts: 23
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation:
0
gmain
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Thanks for your help. I've just got it all working using the same set of instructions but this time I had another audio device that I didn't notice before which had the master level muted.
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
Classic, muted devices....
Posts: 663
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation:
4
2013-12-25, 23:21
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-25, 23:24 by Hack_kid.)
i'll be updating this script soon. the issue most of you are having where xbmc wont start after the script is ran is permissions issues. the script screws the permissions of your .xbmc folder. run this after the script
chown -R xbmc:xbmc /home/xbmc/.xbmc
and you should be all good. I added this to my script. also the upstart is not expeiremental i dont know why he has it marked like that. it is more stable and the correct way to start processes in ubuntu.
I'm a android developer so i know my way around linux. my username on xda is albinoman887, (might of heard of me) also anyone know who i can PM to change my username? i dont want to loose my join date etc
@uNiversal care to drop me a PM? got a question or two for ya
one last thing.....anyone try running ubuntu 13.10. I got it going but i think something about the policies for power managment changed as i can't shut down via xbmc and the option in gui is not read correctly. wondering if anyone else bumped into this or whats the verdict even with ubuntu 13.10. should i even worry about support?
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
@
hack kid
/etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/custom-actions.pkla with should do it.
Code:
[Actions for xbmc user]
Identity=unix-user:xbmc
Action=org.freedesktop.upower.*;org.freedesktop.consolekit.system.*;org.freedesktop.udisks.*
ResultAny=yes
ResultInactive=yes
ResultActive=yes
Yes Upstart is best and safest and most efficient I use this in /etc/init/xbmc.conf
Code:
# xbmc-upstart
# starts XBMC on startup by using xinit.
# by default runs as xbmc, to change edit below.
env USER=xbmc
description "XBMC-barebones-upstart-script"
author "Matt Filetto - Tweaked by uNiversal"
start on (filesystem and stopped udevtrigger)
stop on runlevel [016]
# tell upstart to respawn the process if abnormal exit
respawn
respawn limit 10 5
limit nice 21 21
script
#exec su -c "xinit /usr/bin/xbmc -d -- -nocursor :0" $USER
exec su -c "xinit /usr/bin/xbmc -d --standalone -- -nocursor :0" $USER
end script
Sure ask away I dont enable pm's but sure ask away. This thread has been polouted with so much irrelevant crap in makes no difference.
Feel free to for my version of script on github and improve on it. I suspected as much that these directories you speak of need creating and chowning at beginning of process before installing xbmc.
I have a gist
https://gist.github.com/uNiversaI/7734643 which is a rought step and
https://github.com/uNiversaI/xbmc-ubuntu-minimal
Again just ask I will do what I can.
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
The limit nice 21 21 can be removed not required I was experimenting with that. What your talking about is /etc/security/limits,conf which sets nice -1 (thats option to allow XBMC to request a nice level but you can set whatever level you want.
-d that is the debug? If I remember correctly ( I compile XBMC from source and I cannot get it to use GDB when it crashes) Never was able to resolve that.
-- -nocursor removes the X cursor from XBMC startup (for ppl using mouse not a good idea but I hate mouse + xbmc)
So, you wanna work on improving the script?
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
2013-12-27, 12:14
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-27, 12:15 by un1versal.)
Well Bram77 script is full of bugs that mine already fixed and I already added many other fixes from other forks though it is a big huge pita for ATI and Intel
TBH I dont think running the script from root is a good idea it needs to be ran from xbmc user in the fresh install anything else likely will fail because of this.
Anyway I made last patches and fixes, you're welcome to take in on, I just dont have the necessary skills to undertake the stuff that needs doing, not to mention lack of interest.
Would I be more proficient I would remove ATI and INTEL support completely, as cannot test since unlikely to buy a machine of each just to test.
For username changes see website and forums sub-forum or PM a moderator.
Posts: 23,554
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation:
1,108
fritsch
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 23,554
That's wrong.
You copied the limit nice 21 21 from my upstart script over at the radeon thread without knowing what it does. Some background: upstart does not read mod pam, therefore the /etc/security/limits.conf does not get applied at all. Therefore you need that workaround it in the upstart config. The goal behind that is to allow the AESink thread to have higher priority.
So, if you start xbmc via upstart, you will need both (security limits and the limit nice in upstart)
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
2013-12-27, 12:21
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-27, 12:27 by un1versal.)
Thanks fritsch see
https://github.com/uNiversaI/xbmc-ubuntu...1ec7cd30ed
will do though my xbmc runs at nice level of 20 and haven't noticed any higher priority changes via this.
Do you have any idea about why compiled from source XBMC doesnt output GDB into crashlogs or where to look why it doesnt? GDB is installed.
I am able to get GDB output by starting XBMC with gdb option but otherwise not and cant leave it because otherwise its always filtered through gdb and drag on resources.
Im trying to make it work like ppa compiled packages but no I wont use ppa because it doesnt compile and pull patches for testing and cannot be reliant on ppa do do these jobs.
Posts: 23,554
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation:
1,108
fritsch
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 23,554
2013-12-27, 12:38
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-27, 12:39 by fritsch.)
Open your own ppa and upload specific version.
We do this with all fernetmenta code. Wsnipex is packaging them automatically every night. Same btw. with xbmc nightlies.
Edit: Concerning the priority. Show the threads with ps and compare priorities. It's not about the primary xbmc.bin. Audio should have 21.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
2013-12-27, 12:56
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-27, 12:59 by un1versal.)
I tried ppas a while back and its way too much time consuming and slower, sometimes need to wait hours sometimes in excess of 8 hours, have experienced more, before job gets started by compile machines at best its 2 hours 1 hour... By then including uploading which is slow as hell, terrible idea for this.
The right tool for job is indeed compiling locally, though I could test with checkinstall and see if makes a dif.
Posts: 7,135
Joined: Oct 2012
un1versal
Out of Memory (1939–2016)
Posts: 7,135
@
fritsch seems if you use upstart even with the exec stanza inserting gdb is not possible. I read a few google results and it all starts going a bit too technical not long after.
Posts: 23,554
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation:
1,108
fritsch
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 23,554
That's not related and was not meant as a solution. If you need to run through gdb, start it manually from e.g. fluxbox.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.