Posts: 29
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
amand
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Hello!
I am working on a visualization addon for linux/osx (c + opengl). I was able to install it on my production computer xbmc 13, and it works, even after an update to kodi. On this machine, it works pretty fine.
On another computer (my new development system), I am not able to install it on a new fresh kodi.
I have try to install it with a zip file, and the error is always the same : the structure is not correct.
I have try to copy the files in the addon directory, the same way it is installed on my production computer, but it does not appear neither in the visualization settings or on My Addons (thus, in the log file, my addon appeared as installed...).
Is there a way to install my addon working on kodi ?
I hope someone could help me on this, because I stuck on this for many days now...
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
amand
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Ah yes...
The addon structure for kodi is very different from xbmc. I will rewrite my code to follow the new rules.
Thanks again!
Posts: 1,506
Joined: Nov 2013
2015-05-05, 10:31
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-05, 10:31 by ironic_monkey.)
you can find such a buildsystem at
https://github.com/notspiff/visualization.hypnomix
note that i disabled the python stuff (easily added i just couldn't be arsed as i doubt it's in use).
also you have to add support for binaries and resources in different dirs to be runnable as a system install.
there is some mirroring code for the modules in the cmakelist, but that only works with my fork of kodi.
some unrelated things in there as well (fixes, remove binaries, remove execute on data files and such).
Posts: 1,506
Joined: Nov 2013
oh, and nice start. presets seem a bit unresponsive to the music, and in particular the kinetic one is very boring (nothing happens but a rotating dude).
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
amand
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Thanks a lot ironic_monkey, it's now working!
I've tested a lot of stuff, that's why some of them are not very exciting yet...
My main idea so far was to build a framework to add any kind of visualization as dynamic library (.so).... or python files!
(that's why there was some python code in the resources, and I was able to make it works, once...)
The file mod_tuto.c is an example of a very simple visualization, and a start point for learning the API (I will soon make a documentation...).
The music responsiveness is not very good, because of my lack of fft experience, I need to make a lot of tweaks...
Can I use the notspiff github to continue my development?
Posts: 1,506
Joined: Nov 2013
absolutely, use for whatever you want.
don't take it as negative critique, i understand it is work in progress. just initial impressions, that's all.
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
amand
Junior Member
Posts: 29
No offense taken :-D!
I am very happy you look on my development and solve my problems.
Posts: 1,506
Joined: Nov 2013
two small suggestions;
1) make a subfolder per preset / plugin (e.g. resources/presets/<name>)
2) nuke .pyc files
3) there are unresolved symbols in some of the modules. i don't think this is my doing, i believe it was like that from the start. i'd suggest the same here for layout;
src/modules/<common files> <- built as a lib every module is linked against. yes, some duplicate symbols on disc but that doesnt kill us (linker prunes them on load anyways).
then module-specific code in src/modules/<module
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2012
Reputation:
0
amand
Junior Member
Posts: 29
2015-05-06, 21:14
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-06, 21:39 by amand.)
I followed your suggestions, and made some cleaning on the code.
Therefore, I have never used github before.
Do I have to fork the repository to push my changes? Or do you need to give me permission to the repo?
Posts: 1,506
Joined: Nov 2013
just add mine as a remote to your git, merge it and push to your original git.
or if you want to switch to github; yes you have to fork it.