Posts: 19
Joined: May 2018
Reputation:
0
Have you been using a LAN IP address of your Kodi box? If you're running Kodi on a wireless or other home network, you must use the WAN IP address of your network router. If you don't have a fixed IP address issued by your ISP, you'll need to use one of the DDNS services that will issue you a DNS name, translate it to your WAN IP address, and help to keep up the IP address if and when it changes. You'll need to sign up for the service. Your router will likely help you to manage the service - enter the DDNS login information, track and report any changes to the WAN IP address so that the DDNS service can issue changes to Internet DNS servers. Finally, with a router you'll need to set up port forwarding so that the router knows how to send Kodi traffic to Kodi. I suppose that you'll actually need 2 ports forwarded, one for Kodi (8080 usually) and another one to point to your OwnCloud app.
Your web server must also support (Python 2.7, not 3, I think) apps, and must have the libraries listed in the requirements.txt file installed. I would assume that Python would be installed since you say you have WSIG running. If not, you can download and install python, from python.org if you use as Windows or OSX box. I suspect that most Linux boxes include python in the default distribution.
. If and when Python is installed, you can use pip to check the libraries and install them if needed. The command "pip install -r [Path to]requirements.txt" should tell you.
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2018
Reputation:
0
Sorry tkgafs, I didn't get to the end with my previous post. It looks as though you'll also need to install another app aside from your web server to support your own Alexa server app. Google OwnCloud to figure out how to do so. I haven't dug into it myself.
Posts: 262
Joined: May 2008
Reputation:
4
tkgafs
Senior Member
Posts: 262
Thanks guys for the info about self hosting although it doesn't get me much further
I want to self host so that I don't need to open any ports on the router, but by the look of things its impossible to do this despite what the documentation says
I perhaps misunderstand how alexa actually works, I had assumed tat the skill was downloaded to your local device but I guess Amazon host these skills some place, but how does the echo unit get info back from amazon, presumably a web call which it then scrapes for the reply somehow or other.
I have opencloud running locally as well as wsgi
the documentation has the following scattered through its pages
Obtaining Your Internet Address
This skill is hosted in the "cloud," unless you opt to host it yourself locally. As such, it will need to know your internet address to contact Kodi. [therefore presumably ports have to be opened]
yet the next paragraph states the following
Router Setup
Unless you are hosting the skill locally, it is required that you have the Kodi web server(s) opened up to the internet via port forwarding on your router.
Self Hosting
If you are savvy enough to run your own web server, this is just a bog-standard WSGI app, and you're free to host it on any web server, provided it supports HTTPS [but what gets installed in local server]
Install the modules in requirements.txt [no link here so what are the requirements]
I'll have to go onto github and try and contact developer I think
.
Posts: 2,441
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation:
54
jingai
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,441
Your web server has to be accessible over the internet. Hosting it yourself on your own web server means you don't need to expose Kodi's server to the internet, but as Alexa is a cloud service, Amazon has to have an internet-accessible endpoint to contact.
In other words, HTTPS (port 443) would have to be open on your router. Amazon contacts your web server over the internet, and the skill contacts Kodi over your LAN.
Posts: 21
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation:
0
2018-12-23, 23:32
(This post was last modified: 2018-12-26, 09:20 by johnnypicnic.)
Anyone know the phrase needed to open a music playlist? I made a Christmas.m3u playlist from my music library but can't seem to find a way to open it. It's located in Music\Playlists\Christmas.m3u
Not sure if I understand the cache bucket. Will a Update Library add all of my media into the bucket? So far it looks like only when I ask for something specific does a bucket object get created.
Posts: 8
Joined: May 2017
Reputation:
0
2018-12-27, 19:21
(This post was last modified: 2018-12-27, 19:23 by vladchiriloiu.)
Hi,
I have double-checked everything and it's fine, according to the setup instructions.
However, when it asks for "What's the URL for your skill server? (ex. https://... or arn:...). Press enter to skip." - I do not know what if is asking me to provide.
Can you give me a hint?
In the setup instructions it says: "It will ask you what endpoint your server code is running at. Just paste that in, and everything will be deployed to Amazon." - but I do not know what is the endpoint - is it refering to the Kodi web address? or to an Amazon hosting address?
Thank you
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2018
Reputation:
0
In following the lexigr.am instructions, you either chose the AWS Lambda or the Heroku choice. In either case, Lexigram required you to log into your AWS account. If you chose the AWS Lambda route, you were required to create a zipped file and then upload it to Lambda. When that step was finished, you were (are) logged into the AWS Mnagement Console, in the "Lambda" service, with a Lambda function having been created (with the name "kanzi", I think.) In the upper right hand corner of the browser window is an ARN, like:
ARN - arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:xxxxxxxxxxx:function:name,
with the xxxxxxx uniquely assigned by Lambda and the "name" being the function name. That's the arn you need (leaving off the "ARN - "). You need it because your Alexa skill needs to call this function, residing on an AWS server in the case of Lambda.
If you went the Heroku route, you will need a string starting with https://...., which is assigned by Heroku and displayed with the Heroku function that was created by Lexigram.
The reason for all of this is that Kodi-Alexa requires 2 separate functions - the Alexa skill, which must reside on the Amazon Alexa server, and the server function which can reside on Alexa Lambda, Heroku, or your own server. In any case, the Alexa skill needs to find the server back end. Thus the arn: or https:// address.