Posts: 2
Joined: May 2018
Reputation:
0
I have this set up on 2 RPi2s and MySQL without issues.
I’m trying to configure an Amazon FireTV but no matter what’s in advancedsettings it’s not working.
I’ve noticed it’s on 192.168.49.X do I’m wondering if anyone has this kind of setup working or because the RPi2s are on 18 and AFTV is only 17.6 maybe it won’t read the DB?
Any tips from anyone getting this to work on FireTV? Do I need to create a NEW db for my AFTV on 17.6?
Posts: 981
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation:
40
2018-05-28, 16:05
(This post was last modified: 2018-05-28, 16:08 by flhthemi.)
You could just update the AFTV to V18 and be done....unless it can't run V18.
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2018
Reputation:
0
Thank you! That worked!
Quick question.
Both AFTV are set to scan my source folder. Recently starting to see duplicates.
Should one be importing and scanning and one just pointing to the db as a slave?
I’m guessing having both scan is causing the dupes?
Posts: 3,925
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation:
365
When you first install MySQL, it asks you to set up a password for the root user as part of the initial configuration. That user/password combo is what you need to use to log into the MySQL command line. Note that the MySQL 'root' user is nothing to do with any *nix 'root' user.
To login to the command line you should use mysql -u root -p
where root is the root user for mysql (as set up when you first installed it). Type in the password when prompted and you should be good to go.
If you can't remember the password you will have to reconfigure the MySQL package. I don't know how to do this on a Mac, but on a Debian based Linux system I would do it with sudo dpkg-reconfigure mysql-server-5.6.35
. It should then ask for a new password.
Learning Linux the hard way !!
Posts: 63
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation:
0
Thx for feedback.
I have the right password, copy/paste worked not.
Logging in wit this command worked not:
sudo /usr/local/mysql/bin/mysql
But with this:
mysql -u root -p
I also installed sequel pro. There i was able to create the user and set grants on all. I hope this will work.
1st: Mac Mini: Intel i5 2,6Ghz - 8Gb Ram - Intel Iris - 1Tb - MacOS Big Sur 11.2.3 - Kodi 19.0 - MySQL 8.0.13 (Server)
2nd: iMac 27": Intel i5 2,8Ghz - 12Gb Ram - AMD 5750 1024Mb GFX - 1Tb SSD - MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6 - Kodi 19.0 - MySQL (Client)
3rd: Some Rasperries
Server: Synology 916+
Posts: 156
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation:
1
Diggs
Senior Member
Posts: 156
I am moving and with the new place I will finally have multiple devices running Kodi. I have been using MySQL for about 5 years now, but only with one Windows HTPC utilizing that db. The purpose was to setup an auto update of the library and not have to update on startup on my HTPC that I actually use to watch content.
It has been great and does everything I want, but now that I have added a Nvidia Shield to the mix I have hit a big problem that I am not sure how to solve. When I originally setup MySQL and my Kodi sources I setup shared drives to my Unraid servers. So everything in Kodi and MySQL all point to drives Z: and Y:. The Nvidia Shield has no clue what Z and Y are or how to reach them and I assume there is no way to actually map drives to letters on that OS. It's been years since I set this up originally and never thought forward enough to realize what I was doing to limit the DBs usefulness. So here I am asking if there is anyway to undo this silly mistake I made 5 or so years ago.
So, I copy over all the .xml files and other things mentioned in the Wiki, and the Shields install of Kodi fires up with all my content and everything looks great until I attempt to play something. It then pops up that the content is no longer in my library do I want to remove it? Is this simply my sources.xml file, or are all the paths to each piece of media I have on my servers in the MySQL database? Is there a way to fix this? I have assumed the sources.xml files need to match on each instance of Kodi, but I could be way off and by editing this for the Shield, will it then find the media and the info from the db and play it back properly? Thanks to any help you can provide, at work so I can't upload any logs ATM.
Posts: 981
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation:
40
2018-12-25, 16:26
(This post was last modified: 2018-12-25, 16:31 by flhthemi.)
I use this in ALL my advancedsettings.xml files. It works just fine for all my Android and Windows devices.
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.XXX</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>XXXX</user>
<pass>XXXX</pass>
</videodatabase>
<musicdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.XXX</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>XXXX</user>
<pass>XXXX</pass>
</musicdatabase>
Where X's = YOUR info. No need to map drives at all.
Now, I'm not sure not a dbase kinda guy, but once you have all those NEW devices added it might require a re-do of the database...i.e. drop it in in mysql and let one of the devices rebuild it. Like I say, not a dbase kinda guy so I just might be wrong. I'm sure someone will chime in and correct me.
Merry Christmas!
Posts: 156
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation:
1
Diggs
Senior Member
Posts: 156
2018-12-28, 21:35
(This post was last modified: 2018-12-28, 21:36 by Diggs.)
Thanks for the input folks. Between the holidays and the fact I am in between homes, I haven't had a chance to test this, but I did look at the Wiki and was a bit disspointed to see this.
2.9.3 pathsubstitution
Main page: Path substitution
Note: Path substition for "sources" and profiles is broken, and will NOT be fixed.
Path substitutions are for use for redirecting file paths. These are processed in order, and are useful for substituting an absolute path on a PC with a path suitable for Kodi to handle.
Default: No path substitutions defined.
Example:
<pathsubstitution> <substitute> <from>G:\dvds\</from> <to>smb://somecomputer/g-share/dvds/</to> <!-- Note the difference between the usage of forward and backslashes --> </substitute> </pathsubstitution>
Is anyone currently using "pathsubstitution" successfully?
I just don't want to introduce a problem if it is in fact broken. But I do appreciate the information, if it will work it seems that is exactly what I need to do.
Posts: 56
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation:
2
I have been using a shared mysql database for a while,all the devices are using the current version of LibreElec, I want to install the latest LibreElec Release candidate but confused on how the upgrade process works with a shared database.
I understand all the devices will need to be upgraded to v18 Leia to share the same database, but my big question is will the current database be converted to match the new version during the first upgrade or must I start from scratch, add and scan all the sources for content?
Can someone point me to a simple how-to for upgrading v17- Krypton to v18- Leia when using a shared mysql database?
Thanks
joe